Join us in celebrating the achievements of real-life LGBTQ heroes from around the world. Vote once per day, per device through September 30, 2022 for these incredible advocates who move equality forward for all of us. Vote every day until September 30, winners to be announced in early October.

Hero of the Year

Who will be remembered for making the LGBTQ world a better place?

Celebrity who Made Us Proud

LGBTQ actors, musicians, and reality TV personalities brought visibility to the community. Who made you proud this year?

Social Media Hero

Social media is key to LGBTQ visibility and activism. Here are 5 people using Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, and other platforms to help the community.

Good News Hero

These Good News Hero nominees all made our years a little brighter. Who do you remember making you smile?

Hero who Stood Up with Dignity

These nominees stood up against unprecedented attacks on LGBTQ dignity and commanded respect.

Hero Defending the Children

LGBTQ youth has been bearing the brunt of the assault on our rights this past year. Here are 5 nominees who stood up to defend their equality and well-being.

Sports Hero

These five athletes redefined what it means to be LGBTQ on the pitch, in the pool, and on the gridiron.

Political Hero

These five nominees were able to use their positions of power to advance LGBTQ equality and visibility.

Learn more about the Nominees

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Why LGBTQ Nation Heroes?

LGBTQ Nation Heroes started in 2020 in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic. We wanted a way to interact with our audience with a program that would focus on the positive things people are doing at a time when so many negative things were going on.

LGBTQ Nation Heroes gives us a chance to highlight outstanding LGBTQ people. Our audience liked the idea, so we decided to make it a yearly awards program.

How does voting work?

Every reader of LGBTQ Nation can vote once per day per device. Voting opens on September 1, 2022 and closes on September 30, 2022.

When will LGBTQ Nation Heroes winners be announced?

We’ll announce the winners at the beginning of October.

How are nominees selected?

LGBTQ Nation’s editors pored over thousands of articles published on our website over this past year – going back to August 1, 2021 – looking for stories of LGBTQ people who helped others, achieved great things, and inspired the community to be their best selves.

How do I know who to vote for? I haven’t heard of some of these people before!

We have you covered. Each voting page has a link to an article that explains why we nominated each nominee. That’s the part we’re most proud of with LGBTQ Nation Heroes – sharing with you each of the nominees’ achievements over the past year.

Why aren’t the categories the same as last year?

Four of the categories – LGBTQ Nation Hero of the Year, Celebrity who Made Us Proud, Social Media Hero, and Good News Hero – are the same as last year. The other four categories are meant to change each year to reflect how the world changes each year.