Boulder, Denver counties resume issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples

LGBTQ Nation

Updated: 10:05 a.m. MDT

DENVER — Boulder and Denver counties are joining other Colorado counties in issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples.

Colorado-marriage-licenseClerks there announced Tuesday they are now issuing the licenses after the Colorado Supreme Court lifted previous orders against them.

Boulder County clerk Hillary Hall was the first Colorado clerk to issue licenses after the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals issued its first ruling in favor of same-sex marriage in June but was later ordered to stop, along with Denver’s clerk.

While clerks in some counties have been waiting for such final court orders before issuing marriage licenses to gay couples, Arapahoe, Mesa, Douglas and Pueblo counties have all been granting them.

State Attorney General John Suthers says these final steps are needed to achieve “finality and clarity to Colorado’s laws.”

© 2014, Associated Press, All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

This Story Filed Under