State Department

The U.S. Department of State, often referred to as the State Department, is the U.S. federal executive department responsible for international relations of the United States, equivalent to the foreign ministry of other countries. The Department was created in 1789 and was the first executive department established. The current Secretary of State is John F. Kerry.