Iowa is the 29th U.S. state, admitted to the Union on December 28, 1846. Its capital city is Des Moines.

LGBT Rights in Iowa: Same-sex marriage is legal in Iowa under a unanimous state Supreme Court decision on April 3, 2009. Marriage licenses were issued to same-sex couples in Iowa for the first time on April 27, 2009. Since 2007, Iowa has outlawed discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. Iowa's hate crime law covers hate crimes based on sexual orientation but not gender identity. Joint adoptions by same-sex parents have been legal since a ruling by the Iowa Supreme Court in 2008. Iowa law allows individuals and married couples, regardless of sexual orientation, to adopt.

Archives | Mentions:

Page 6 of 6« First...456
Mike and Chuck Hewitt

KC Newspapers Reject Same-Sex Wedding Announcement

Wednesday, June 3, 2009
An Independence, MO same-sex couple went to Iowa to get married, but two newspapers refused to publish the wedding announcement. After 10 years together, Mike and Chuck Hewitt finally got to exchange wedding vows. Iowa is currently the only state in the Midwest to allow... [ Read more → ]
Page 6 of 6« First...456