New & Noteworthy:
A community exclusively for gay and lesbian couples.
Connect with people like you!

All but twelve Wis. counties now issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Updated: 1:45 p.m. CDT.

MADISON, Wis. — Sixty of Wisconsin’s 72 counties are now issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples.

WisconsinAn Associated Press survey of the counties Thursday found that all but twelve were issuing the licenses after a federal judge last week struck down the state’s ban as unconstitutional.

However, the judge created by confusion by not telling state officials how to implement her decision.

The AP tally shows that at least 573 licenses have been issued statewide while 603 applications had been received.

Republican Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen is trying to get last week’s ruling put on hold to stop clerks from issuing licenses. Van Hollen said Thursday that those clerks could face charges from local district attorneys for breaking the law by issuing the licenses.

The twelve counties not issuing licenses are: Barron, Green Lake, Lafayette, Ozaukee, Portage, Price, Racine, Richland, Sawyer, Vernon, Washburn and Washington.

Share this article with your friends and followers: